Home Press Releases The 8th Turku Biennial showcases 16 of the most topical contemporary artists...

The 8th Turku Biennial showcases 16 of the most topical contemporary artists in Finland


8th Turku Biennial
November 17, 2017 to April 4, 2018
Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova
Itäinen Rantakatu 4–6
20700 Turku, Finland
Hours: Daily 11am–7pm
November 17, 2017 to March 4, 2018
Galleria Å
Kaskenkatu 1
20700 Turku
Hours: Tue–Fri 12–6 pm / Sat–Sun 12–4 pm

Anna Estarriola • Teemu Korpela • Riikka Kuoppala • Reija Meriläinen • Juha Mäki-Jussila • Pekka Niskanen • Tuula Närhinen • Anssi Pulkkinen • Minna Rainio & Mark Roberts • Simo Ripatti • Minna Suoniemi • Päivi Takala • Nora Tapper • Nita Vera • Hanna Vihriälä
The 8th Turku Biennial is undertaken by 16 top of the line artists working in Finland. Their focused works on intensive themes make this a definitive event in Finnish art this winter. The exhibition is displayed in two locations, the museum Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova as well as Turku Artists’ Association’s Gallery Å.
No single theme was proposed to guide the artists of the 8th Turku Biennial. The works are a direct expression of the topics and themes that speak to these particular artists at this specific moment. This includes acute examination of issues in today’s society as well as intensive immersion in personal artistic methodologies. Materiality is strongly present in a number of labour-intensive installations. The media works set their sights on the world of today side by side with flashes of remembrance and history. All the works are premiering in the exhibition.
The artists of the exhibition were selected through a process of open application. The jury consisted of Aboa Vetus & Ars Nova’s Director Johanna Lehto-Vahtera, curators Eeva Holkeri, Silja Lehtonen and Laura Ruohonen, Turku Artists’ Association’s Executive Director Riina Kotilainen, Helsinki Art Museum’s Chief of Exhibitions Pirkko Siitari as well as Hanne Mustiala as a representative of the public.
The recipient of the Biennial Prize (5 000 Euro) will be selected by the Editor in Chief of Turun Sanomat, Riitta Monto. The winner will be announced in February 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here